Front End Engineer - Graduate Interview Experience at Amazon Dublin

Hello people, I'm Ansh Shrivastava, 2022 Grad from LNCT Bhopal. Recently I got the chance to interview at Amazon Dublin for FEE Grad role and spoiler alert, I got the offer!

In this post, I will share the journey to getting an offer from Amazon.

So, one day (February end), my friend called me and said, "There is this Frontend opening at Amazon Dublin, I applied and got the test (OA) link, you do the same as you have a good profile". So I directly applied at amazon jobs site without a referral.

Online Assessment (OA) -

I got the Online Assessment link within a day and completed it the same day itself. The OA consisted of 2 rounds:

  • A HackerRank test of 2 coding questions which were LeetCode Easy-Medium level
  • A Workstyle Assessment which basically consisted of situations one may face at the job.

Then after a week or so, the recruiter reached out to me and informed me that I have cleared the OA and gave me a bunch of dates to select from for the Interview.

Interview Experience -

There were 3 rounds of interviews, scheduled on the same day, 1 hour each. All interviews were of the same pattern - Behavioral + Technical. As all the interviews were of the same pattern, I will describe them combined.

NOTE: I can not specify the exact questions asked

So all the interviews started with the interviewer giving his introduction followed by my introduction.

Following my introduction, behavioral questions were asked based on Amazon's Leadership Principles (LPs).

I was asked 5 to 6 behavioral questions per round, you will find most of them here.

Then I was asked a few technical questions each of which was an extension of the previous one. It was not necessary to complete all the questions or write syntactically correct code.

Interview 1 -

Simple machine coding questions using JavaScript or any framework of choice.

While I was implementing them using React, I was asked about some of React and JavaScript internals and the hooks/functions I was utilizing. I also explained to him what and why am I writing the code I was writing which impressed him.

Interview 2 & 3 -

LeetCode easy-medium Binary Tree and String questions were asked in these rounds.

I solved all the questions asked using recursion while discussing the logic with the interviewers.

Tips -

  • Always say and explain what and why you are thinking and doing.
  • Do not lie about the experiences you mention while answering the questions.
  • Always clarify the questions - intentionally vague questions are asked to check you.
  • Have a list of good questions to ask the interviewers at the end of each round.

Closing thoughts -

  • The interviewers were very friendly and helpful, so if you even got stuck at some point in the logic or code they will help you.
  • Try not to get anxious during the interview, maintain your composure, speak slowly and clearly. Ask for a minute to think before answering if you want.

Thanks for reading, hope this post will be helpful to all of you. If you have any queries/suggestions comment down below or reach out on Twitter or LinkedIn.